PokerStars Wins Third EGR’s Poker Operator of the Year Award

PokerStars Wins Third EGR’s Poker Operator of the Year Award December 7, 2016 December 7, 2016 Tim Glocks
Posted on  Dec 7, 2016 | Updated on  Dec 7, 2016 by Tim Glocks

The worldwide leader in online poker PokerStars has bagged yet another award for excellence. It recently collected the Poker Operator of the Year award given out at the prestigious EGR Operator Awards 2016 in London. This is the third consecutive year in which the online poker site has won the honor.

The EGR Awards recognizes excellence in gaming operations across the industry. The eGaming Review Magazine and is owned by Pageant Gaming Media Limited and is a well-respected online industry source.

In a statement, Severin Rasset, director of poker innovation and operations for PokerStars said

Winning the Poker Operator of the Year for the third year in a row is great testament to the passion and hard work that people across the business put into making PokerStars the best poker site in the world. We always think about our players first and we are committed to keep it that way.

PokerStars and its parent company Amaya Inc were nominated for five awards this year. While Amaya was nominated for the Operator of the Year, the Socially Responsible Operator of the Year and the Customer Service Operator of the Year, PokerStars was nominated for the Poker Operator of the Year award. PokerStars Casino was separately nominated in the category of Casino Operator of the Year.

The award comes even as the site’s parent company has battled challenging issues in the past year such as a change of guard after former CEO David Baazov was charged with insider trading and multiple takeover discussions.

Industry observers believe that the award recognizes the efforts taken by PokerStars to bring in new players to the game. The online site has made a clear shift towards recreational players in the last 12 months through its policies and products.

Other operators who scored wins at the EGR Operator Awards included Unibet who was awarded the Operator of the Year award and Betfair which took the Casino Operator Of The Year award. The mobile poker product award was given to Aconcagua Poker and Pinnacle received the eSports Operator award. Betsson took the Customer Services Operator award.

Several other related awards were given out at the ceremony. The Marketing Campaign award went to Unibet as did the Socially Responsible Operator of the year award. The Mobile Sports Product award was won by Sky Betting & Gaming, while bet365 bagged the Sports Betting Operator award. Guns N’ Roses (NetEnt) received the Game of the Year award and the Rising Star award was given to Hero Gaming.

Tim GlocksAuthor

Tim Glocks is a retired professor, he currently contributes to Tim enjoys playing poker and has taken it up as a hobby since his retirement. He has taken part in many online tournaments and has become a veteran in a short space of time. Visit Tim’s google + page here