Jeff Fielder Wins 2013 WSOP Circuit Choctaw Main Event

Jeff Fielder Wins 2013 WSOP Circuit Choctaw Main Event January 23, 2013 January 23, 2013 Tim Glocks
Posted on  Jan 23, 2013 | Updated on  Jan 23, 2013 by Tim Glocks

Jeff FielderAs many as 1,140 poker players registered for the $1,675 buy-in Main Event of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit Choctaw of 2013, making the total prize pool as large as $1,710,000.

The event lasted 3 days, and at the end of that time, Jeff Fielder of Iowa turned out to be the champion of the event. He collected the second gold ring of his career, the first prize of $312,080, and 980 Player of the Year (POY) points. His latest poker achievement has put Fielder in the seventh position on the POY leader board.

In the course of his career, Fielder has earned over $600,000. He says that he is not a full time professional poker player, but plays poker as a hobby while focusing on his construction business in Iowa. Sharing his feelings after winning this colossal amount, he said,

I’m pretty content right now. I like what I do. It’d be pretty stressful to play tournament poker full time. I like the guaranteed income that gives me the cushion to go to some of these stops.

When asked about what he intended to do with his winnings, Fielder said that he will not celebrate because he wanted to finish some important work before heading over to a vacation. At the end of the tournament, he said,

I have to get my passport and be ready for the Bahamas on Wednesday. We’ve had a trip planned for a while now. I’m probably going to do a little upgrading.

As many as 117 players won a share of the huge prize pool, and some of the players who came into the money were T. J. Cloutier, who has won six WSOP bracelets in the course of his career, and Layne Flack. While Cloutier finished in the sixtieth position and won a cash prize of $4,668, Layne Flack finished in the fifty-eighth position and won the same amount.

Here are the final table results in detail. Jeffrey Fielder, as the last man standing of the tournament, collected a large prize of$312,080 and 960 POY points. The runner-up Matthew Kirby won $192,751 and 800 POY Points. The player who finished third Dale Roesel won $143,230 and 640 POY Points. The player who finished fourth Bryan Campanello won $107,730 and 480 POY points. The player who finished fifth Krissi McFarland won $82,092 and 400 POY
Points. The player who finished sixth Drazen Ilich won $63,202 and 320 POY Points.

Tim GlocksAuthor

Tim Glocks is a retired professor, he currently contributes to Tim enjoys playing poker and has taken it up as a hobby since his retirement. He has taken part in many online tournaments and has become a veteran in a short space of time. Visit Tim’s google + page here