David Steicke Emerges MPCC 2011 Opening Event Champion

David Steicke Emerges MPCC 2011 Opening Event Champion September 12, 2012 September 13, 2012 Tim Glocks https://www.poker-online.com/author/tim
Posted on  Sep 12, 2012 | Updated on  Sep 13, 2012 by Tim Glocks

David Steicke, Australian poker professional player, is the last man standing of the Macau Poker Cup Championship (MPCC) 2012 Opening Event, which attracted as many as 161 participants. The venue was the Grand Waldo Entertainment Complex, and the event marked the beginning of the lucrative Macau Poker Cup Championship.

The Opening Event was a Texas Hold’em NL event with a buy-in of HK$8,800, and almost all except 44 players were left playing at the end of the first day, promising some exciting final table events ahead.

The event rewarded the top 19 players, giving them a share of the immense prize pool of HK$1,249,360. Unfortunately, Ray Chiu, the chip leader of the first day of the Opening Event; Hung-Sheng Shaq Lin, winner of the Asia Player of the Year title for 2011; and Celina Lin, a member of Team PokerStars Pro, couldn’t make it to the top 19.

The player who finished in the 19th position was Jay Tan, and the player who finished in the 14th position was Raiden Kan, the reigning champion of the MPCC.

The chip leader at the final table was Roman Babeka, a professional poker player from the Czech Republic. Some of the talented players at the final table were Tony Chang, Justin Chan, Kiwi Thomas, Jacky Wang, and David Steicke. The final table game soon ended up into a heads-up between Steicke and Babela, which moved at a rapid pace after Steicke’s Ace – Jack got together with the Jack on the table. Finally, it was Steicke who won the trophy and the huge first prize amount of HK$306,100.

Here are the final table results: The last man standing and the runner up were David Steicke and Roman Babeka, who won HK$306,100 and HK$206,100, respectively. The players who finished third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, and tenth were Tony Chang of Hong Kong, Andrew Lam of Hong Kong, Jacky Wang of Singapore, Yue Hin Lam of Hong Kong, Thomas Ward of New Zealand, Justin Chan of Hong Kong, Haotian Feng of Australia, and Joao da Silva of Macau.

The second event at the venue was the HK$1,500 Deep Stack, which had 179 participants. The third event, which is the KO Bounty with a buy-in of HK$5,000, will begin on the night of Monday and is expected to drag in the largest player field. Live updates of these events will be available at several prominent poker portals.

Tim GlocksAuthor

Tim Glocks is a retired professor, he currently contributes to Poker-Online.com. Tim enjoys playing poker and has taken it up as a hobby since his retirement. He has taken part in many online tournaments and has become a veteran in a short space of time. Visit Tim’s google + page here